Recent history in brief

On 1 January 2010, two precursor universities of applied sciences, TAMK and PIRAMK, merged to form Tampere University of Applied Sciences, which thereby became the second largest multidisciplinary university of applied sciences in Finland.

On 1 January 2014, a new operating licence was granted to Pirkanmaan ammattikorkeakoulu Ltd, which was the maintaining organization of Tampere University of Applied Sciences.

On 1 January 2015, an operating licence was granted to Tampere University of Applied Sciences Ltd.

History of precursor organizations

Tampere University of Applied Sciences (TAMK)
former Tampere Polytechnic

  • 1912: establishment in Tampere of the first technical college in Finland
  • 1992: granting of a temporary operating licence for a university of applied sciences
  • 1996: permanent operating licence granted
  • Educational focus  on technology.  Other fields of study: business administration, art and media, and forestry
  • Owner: City of Tampere

Pirkanmaa University of Applied Sciences (PIRAMK)
former Pirkanmaa Polytechnic

  • 1997: granting of a temporary operating licence for a university of applied sciences
  • 2000: permanent operating licence granted
  • Created from a merger of 10 upper secondary-level vocational institutions in the Tampere Region
  • Fields of study: health care and social services, tourism and catering, business administration, and music and media
  • From 2000, majority of students studying health care and social services
  • Maintaining organization: Pirkanmaan ammattikorkeakoulu Ltd, owned by a consortium including the City of Tampere